Royal Forth Yacht Club
Watersports at Granton

Cruise in Company – Sunday 6th May 2018

The first C in C of the new season consisted of a leisurely sail to Inchkeith Harbour, via Blae Rock. The forecast had predicted a constant south westerly airstream (variable) but what we got for most of the day was entirely the opposite, with a light breeze from the north east. The forecasters were correct about one thing however; IT WAS AN ABSOLUTE SCORCHER !!

 

We set off about 10:30hrs and, on a falling tide, we were to be out for several hours. The fleet consisted of Amare; Cory Louise, Idothea, Tidecatcher and Whizz Too.

 

Conditions were perfect and we dropped anchor at Inchkeith just in time for lunch, which we enjoyed amidst the usual cacophony of noise from the Inchkeith residents (the gulls)! One or two souls ventured ashore but most were content to simply sit and enjoy the surroundings.

 

We all ambled back in our own time and as ‘Tidecatcher’ got within half a mile of Granton the predicted south westerly came on strong (only 6 hours late).  Typical !! All in all however an enjoyable day and a relatively gentle introduction to the new season.

 

The next C in C is scheduled for June 10th. Watch out for updates.


B Robertson

Upcoming Events

  1. PEYC Yacht and DBSC Dinghy Regattas

    Sunday, September 23
  2. Royal Eastern Regatta/Late Sat series 5,6,7

    Saturday, September 29 @ 3:30 pm
  3. Autumn Series 1,2

    Saturday, October 6 @ 11:00 am
  4. Dinghy Racing

    Sunday, October 7 @ 2:00 pm
  5. Autumn Series 3,4

    Saturday, October 13 @ 3:30 pm
  6. Autumn Series 5,6

    Saturday, October 20 @ 11:00 am
  7. Lift Out

    Monday, October 22
  8. Autumn Series 7,8

    Saturday, October 27 @ 3:00 pm
  9. Fancy Dress Firework Disco

    Sunday, November 4
  10. Winter Talk

    Wednesday, November 7 @ 7:00 pm

Live AIS and Charts

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook and Instagram